Sharing to Learn

Two or more brains are better than one. This phrase definitely explains that working as a group and learning together help us learn anything better. How?

teamwork_coaching

Clearly when we are working as a group, all of the social skills such as, listening, communicating, expressing ideas, etc. are essential. These social skills will give us the opportunity to make friends, get to know others and see others’ perspectives on solving problems or discussions. Not only that, but it also allows us to learn to work together and cooperate with others. However, teamwork will also help us work on our patience, take turns on expressing ideas, supporting others, as well as accepting critics from others or give critics to others.

Sharing a common goal, it will open our mind and let us see different ways that others use to reach the same goal. Learning collaboratively with others, by dividing the work equally for each member of the group, will make everything much easier and more effective. In addition to that, the collaborative learning will also develop our independence, because each of the members will definitely have to contribute ideas. Therefore working in a group and working collaboratively will bring lots of positive outcomes and it will also improve lots of aspects from its individual, from the social skills to thinking independently.

 https://eternalsunshineoftheismind.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/together-everyone-achieves-more.jpg

So since the beginning of my creative thinking class, we are assigned to groups and we’ve worked in our group since then. So far, we’ve done 3 exercises, such as brainstorming, categorization, and also mind-mapping. Throughout these exercises, I actually enjoy each moment a lot.

However when I think back about the happiest moment while working in my group, I couldn’t even forget our first brainstorm exercise where we have to find 101 ways to kill a paper man. My group presented various creative and interesting ways that was out of the context “normal”, I considered that very fun and enjoyable. To be honest, the feeling of working in a group with completely new friends is kind of odd and awkward at first. However through the times and the fun activities, the awkwardness fades and it became more fun. And I’m also glad because my teammates are all not quite at all; in fact they are active, cheerful, and smart. Working together with them teaches me a lot. It gives me more ideas about solving problems from their point of views. Not only that, but also I have the chance to learn to improve my social skill and I learn to express my ideas more in the group. In any group, it may be kind of hard sometimes when we have different point of views and argues a little. In a team, arguments are very acceptable because each members of the group definitely have different characters. This is the thing that we have to understand in working together as a group. Even though arguments are sometimes hard, but this is a small thing that I may not like from teamwork. But when I think about it, arguments are actually the thing that can make a group or team even more solid.

Leave a comment